OU Air Force

Since 1952, Air Force ROTC Detachment 675 at OU has been training high-quality future Air Force leaders. Some of the best and brightest University of Oklahoma (OU) students have completed the Air Force ROTC program while earning their undergraduate degree, allowing them to commission as officers in the United States Air Force after graduation. These graduates have served their country well as pilots, Combat Systems Officers (CSOs), Air Battle Managers (ABMs), engineers, doctors, nurses, weather officers, communications officers, acquisition managers, language specialists, etc. Today, this tradition continues on at the University of Oklahoma. If you enroll in AFROTC at Det 675, you will become a part of this long-standing tradition of excellence!

AFROTC cadets participating in NROTC’s time honored tradition of carrying the Texas/OU game ball down to the Cotton Bowl.

The Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFROTC) is one of three primary commissioning sources for officers in the United States Air Force, the other two being the United States Air Force Academy (USAFA) and Air Force Officer Training School (OTS). A subordinate command of the Air University within the Air Education and Training Command (AETC), AFROTC is aligned under the Jeanne M. Holm Center for Officer Accessions and Citizen Development at Maxwell AFB, Alabama. The Holm Center, formerly known as the Air Force Officer Accession and Training Schools (AFOATS), retains direct responsibility for both AFROTC and OTS.

Air Force ROTC offers men and women the opportunity to earn a commission as an Air Force officer while completing the requirements of their first bachelor’s degree. Interested students may join Air Force ROTC during any semester in their first year of college and during the Fall semester of their second year of college without any obligation or commitment. OU students who complete the entire program will earn a minor in Aerospace Studies.

Air Force ROTC is the largest and oldest source of commissioned officers in the U.S. Air Force. Air Force ROTC’s stated mission is to produce quality leaders for the U.S. Air Force. Air Force ROTC units are located on 140 college and university campuses with 1,000 additional institutions of higher learning participating in cross-town agreements which allow their students to attend Air Force ROTC classes at a nearby “host” college or university.

The following schools have cross-town agreements with the University of Oklahoma: Rose State College, Oklahoma City Community College (OCCC), Oklahoma Christian University, Oklahoma Baptist University, Oklahoma City University, and the University of Central Oklahoma.

Read more about OU Air Force ROTC HERE.